new laptop and mapsource

bikenav

new laptop and mapsource

Post by bikenav »

Recently obtained a new laptop so been spending a really great time trying to setup similar to old one. For route planning etc I use mapsource much prefer it to basecamp, loaded new machine with BC easily and MS second try so far so good. My old files are mostly in GPX format and a few in GDB, this laptop windows10 I beleive, opens all Gpx with BC I even uninstalled BC and still seems to reinstall it itself and open in BC! Tried to change the Default opening setting to MS but in settings by file type for GPX it is BC with no apparent way to choose MS as an alternative whilst the default for GDB is MS so it does see MS. Hope that makes sense to somebody who can help. Please help me get back to mapsource!! :(
I am no computer expert but surely there must be a way.
Thanks Paul.
frenchy3

Re: new laptop and mapsource

Post by frenchy3 »

I tried to use mapsource as i used to find it easy on my old computer. Although it will still function with certain platforms you cannot update it(it is obsolete) and it now defaults to basecamp. I have learned to live with it and use basecamp just as a route holding area to easily upload and download GPX files. For UK routing i plan the routes on here http://www.bikehike.co.uk/mapview.php and you can either send the files directly to your GPS unit or save them as a file to Basecamp. I use firefox and had to install Garmin communicator as well to let the GPX files become compatible with Basecamp. I am sure there are many other ways of achieving this but i am not very computer savvy and it took me ages to get as far as i have.
byewayrider

Post by byewayrider »

What version of mapsource you using? Latest and last was 6.10+ and apparently works on windows 10. Althougn new garmins dont work with mapsource but as you said use gpx or convert gpd to gpx...mapsource can use gpx....
Solo ktm690 euro trail rider
Simon_100

Post by Simon_100 »