Tom Tom rider problem? Make an informed decision before you buy!

SomersetJohn

Post by SomersetJohn »

Ladies and gents If your considering purchasing a new Tom Tom rider maybe on the strength of articles in ABR, before you part with £299 PLEASE STOP and do a bit of research, because I wish I had!!! Check out Tom Toms own forum for a kick off.
The punchline to this sorry tale is that the screen reacts to the slightest amount of rain, as soon as a drop or two hits the screen it goes off into some menu or whatever it feels like doing, anything but showing you the actual route your taking. I've done everything suggested angled it at ten degrees, tried to shelter it behind my windscreen etc but as soon as a drop of water touches the screen it just throws a fit.
Now for a motorcycle sat nav screen that doesn't work in the rain, to me that's a pretty big fundamental flaw, obviously none of the design engineers were motorcyclists, because as an engineer myself one of the requirements I would have added at the design review would have been:- 1) Display sceen must remain stable during rain.
I know one of Garmins engineers is a motorcyclist, because their sat navs don't f@cking do this.
I am on my second brand new sat nav and guess what, yep still the same. Tom Tom seem to be in denial that they have a problem as far as they're concerned it passes all their tests. My guess is they know they've f@cked up big style with the screen but have produced thousands, sold thousands, so let's keep quite until the twelve month guarantee runs out, deny everything. They're obviously into this for quite a lot of cash just look at the amount of advertising in ABR.

So here's my extra test, Tom Tom can have this one for free, it can be an addendum to their test spec.

a) Plan a thrill (really)
b) ready to ride route is displayed 'let's go'
c) prop it upright on the kitchen sink ( preferably near a window to maintain satellite reception) angle at 10 degrees (critical)