Michelin Anakee Adventure advice needed

Got a spanner in the works? Post your motorcycle problems here.
Chunkychops

Michelin Anakee Adventure advice needed

Post by Chunkychops »

Morning all
I am looking to replace my Anakee 3 with the Michelin Adventures on my BMW F800GS. Most of my riding is on tarmac but I am keen on exploring greenlaning - being an absolute novice, nothing terrifying!
Has anyone got 1st hand long term experience with the Adventures?
Any advice on other tyres?
Thank you :D
Rederic

Re: Michelin Anakee Adventure advice needed

Post by Rederic »

I hated mine on a 1200GS
If your not the lead dog the view never change's
P4ulie

Post by P4ulie »

As long as you're not planning on any mud wallowing, I've been more than happy with Avon trail riders on my GP450 SM wheels. Excellent on tarmac & more than fine on hardpack /gravel / dry grass etc. I wouldn't recommend in anything gloopy but then I wouldn't recommend a novice taking an 800GS into it either
With enough profanity, you can accomplish anything
Richard Simpson Mark II

Post by Richard Simpson Mark II »

Any reasonably chunky tyre will do alright in the dry.

I've had good luck with Mitas EO7 and E07+ on my KTM 950, which is of similar weight and power to your bike. They are OK on dry dirt and ride nicely on-road.

I'd avoid any tyre that has an unbroken tread band in the centre of the tyre...the idea is that if there's no tread there to wear out the tyre will last for a long time. But there's a reason why tyres have tread in the first place!

If it's really muddy then don't try to 'learn' greenlaning on anything other than a proper trail bike, and put knobbly tyres on it.. There's a nice 250 Kawasaki for sale on this forum (nothing to do with me, mind). Pirelli MT21s are a knobbly that will give reasonable road performance.
bikenav

Post by bikenav »