Using washers under nuts

Got a spanner in the works? Post your motorcycle problems here.
Dark Knight

Using washers under nuts

Post by Dark Knight »

I must be a bit of a geek as I found this quite interesting.
When I was an apprentice I was told to always use washers under nuts.
Maybe this is because I was was working on Avionics which probably used lower torque fixings.
Attachments
why-use-washers.pdf
(416.89 KiB) Downloaded 179 times
Dark Knight

Re: Using washers under nuts

Post by Dark Knight »

This guy does not state what level of torque and size of bolt that he is talking about.
I usually use mild steel washers and have never seen any apparent distortion over tens of years..
On the bigger bikes the highest torqued bolt, would the rear wheel spindle at 80 ftlbs (old guy, using old tools made to last).
I suppose the washer under the retaining nut could be high tensile steel.
I think this guy is talking about bolts and fixings used in building bridges or similar.
Asgard

Post by Asgard »

Not just the heavy stuff, there is a fair bit discussion on this subject amongst some aero engine techs, most old flat 4 and 6 cylinder engine use through bolts that hold the 2 opposing steel cylinder/head assemblies and both crankcase halves together and its quite a problem getting the correct preload stretch on these long through bolts....Washer material has come up in the discussions relating to the different torque recommendations that exist for the same engine as well as lubing or not the thread and indeed throwing away the torque wrench altogether and buying huge calipers to actualy measure the the bolt stretch!!
Its a trick............get an Axe
Asgard

Post by Asgard »

P.S. Nord-lock X series washers seem like a promising method for preserving bolt preload, Ive got a few ready for a flywheel replacement I need to do in the future
Its a trick............get an Axe
Dark Knight

Post by Dark Knight »