First Ride In Europe

The black art of moving from A to B on foreign soil
foggyeye

First Ride In Europe

Post by foggyeye »

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here, so be gentle. :)

this year (2015) I'm planning on riding my bike in Europe. This will be my first time on a ferry or in Europe with a motorbike. So I'm looking for advice:

[ol]
[li]As I live in Leeds, which is the best place to get a ferry from for Europe?[/li]
[li]I was thinking of going to The Netherlands on this trip, so I need to know a good place to stay with secure parking for my bike?[/li]
[li]I'm only planning on spending a few days there, so i need a small itinerary of places to visit?[/li]
[li]Essentials to take with me, other than passport / money etc?[/li]
[li]any other newbie tourer advice you can give, would be greatly received.[/li]
[/ol]
BrynS

Re: First Ride In Europe

Post by BrynS »

Welcome in :)

Hull to Rotterdam or Zebrugge will put you where you want to go....

As far as sightseeing...how about Arnhem? Operation Market Garden B)

Plenty of places to stay on Booking.com... Just spend some time browsing and checking the reviews
Mosel Bikes

Post by Mosel Bikes »

Welcome.
We've all made a first post on here and we've all taken a first trip by bike to Europe, so you're not alone.
Suggest Hull to Zeebrugge with P&O ferries. (pm me if you want details on how to make big saving on price of crossing)
Suggest you consider Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany instead of Holland (unless you have a particular interest in specific things it offers - like WWII or weed!).
You're very welcome to stay with us and I'd be happy to provide a full itinerary for however many days you want it for, or take you around if you prefer (I'm due an update on images and videos for the website). Garaged secure parking.
Whatever you do, have a great time. You're opening a new door to your biking and you won't want to close it! (thumbs)
Greyhound Racing .... don't bet, don't go - you bet, they die :cry:
Geekay